Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic

Best way to store and read data

Hello, I have been working with game sparks for a couple of months now and I have a few questions but first some context.

Our game has players that explore multiple maps revealing fog of war with different types of units and they can deploy buildings in said map in the areas they explored.

So far I am keeping the buildings data , fog of war data and information about the map itself each in their own data types 

and I access each document in these data types using playerID + mapID ( entry name) and I do not use indexed fields at all
My question is whether there is an advantage or disadvantage to accessing documents using their IDs directly or using indexed fields?

Also Should I create a separate document for each map for each player ? or keep all information of a map building data under one entry for example 

{
   mapId:
         {
           Data: " data",
           Data : "data"
          },
  anotherMapId :
          { 
           Data: " data",
           Data : "data"
           }
}

I know that there is 400 Kb limit per document however I do not know if the size of the documents matters in the time it takes to retrieve that document , and what happens when the 400Kb is exceeded ? I have a player that has this limit exceeded ( the buildings data type) what is the best way to deal with this problem ? 

Also another question, I am using my own custom data type to keep track of player currencies, since I thought if am using custom data types I would keep using it for player data as well instead of relying on existing player collection in the system .  Is there any advantages to using player collection that exists by default in game sparks?