Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic

GDPR Compliance

Hi, We're closing in on the enforcement day of GDPR. Are you ready? Best regards, Jonas Johansson

6 people have this question

Hi! I'm interested in this as well as all of us do. Personally thinking - I'm not a lawyer though - the data collected by GS is essentially anonymus as you don't have any way to associate a GS user id with a real person. Maybe aside from the location data - provided ex. by leaderboard scores. However if you collect user data elsewhere with maybe an e-mail address and store the GS user id as well, then that is different. Correct me if I'm wrong! I'm really in the dark with all this just trying to figure out how to handle all this. Thanks for any advise!

Hi Rwd World,

If you, like me, use Steam to authenticate the user then GameSparks will store the Steam player name and geolocation coordinates (as looked up by IP) in the System.player collection.

Steam player name

It seems possible to link the Steam player name to a real person so I would see that as personal information. I'm not sure yet whether to judge that as something necessary for my business to run or if I'll have to collect explicit and clear consent from the user before authenticating the user using Steam in GameSparks.

Geolocation coordinates

I don't think it's acceptable that geolocation coordinates are being stored by default and I've contacted GameSparks and asked them to remove it. They say it's built into the system and can't be turned off. They asked if I had looked at the COPPA credentials, but from what I can tell that removes the possibility to authenticate with external providers, which I'm guessing includes Steam. I need Steam. I don't need geolocation coordinates.