Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic

Save Data and use cases

Hello all,

I am a newbie with GameSparks, and I am not really good at English. So I just want to ask the question in here and hopefully get some simple answers. 

I am looking at different way to save players' data and trying to figure out which type/method would be the best. And thinking of example use cases on it.

So far I have found we can save data under gamespark player e.g. scriptData and privateData

What sort of use I can do with scriptData? Like player's level? or what item player has?

Can player's friend have access to scriptData? Like I want to check what level my friend is on the game?

What about privateData? I can't think of any use cases for it. 

What about using Collection? What is the advantage of using it? I notice there are runtime collection and meta data collection. I read from tutorial that meta data collection data will stay as when game being published. Does it mean I can't use runtime collection data to store player's data because it will get reset when game being published? Does it mean every update that i make?

Sorry for my bad English, but I think I don't fully understand the concept of each.

Hey Derek,

So i'll explain the different use-cases for each of the ways you asked and their advantages/disadvantages..

• Player scriptData
    This is stored directly on the player doc. GameSparks uses a restricted collection to store player data like auth-tokens, VGs, currency, etc and part of the API that you use to access this allows you to get/set data here. You can store whatever data you want here, but there is a limit to the size you can store here (16mb). The data stored here can only get/set so you can search the data without loading it into memory first which means you can (for example) search for an item in the player's inventory, and then get the item back; you'd have to get all items first and then the one you need.