Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic

Creating Handlebars helpers

Handlebarsjs.com discusses creating helpers (using Handlebars.registerHelper) which I gather needs to go in an external js file. Is it possible to do this within the dynamic forms and if so, how?

I'm very new to dynamic forms but finding them a very powerful way to manage user data. I've never seen Handlebars before.

3 people have this question
1 Comment

Bump on this!

So I was messing around with my management screen stuff and I had a need for something like the handlebars "lookup" helper, but that worked on paths. It's for a table generation system. I describe the columns in my javascript quadrant, and then write some GSML with handlebars to turn it into an HTML table, with #each and given the data rows posted in the scriptData. Unfortunately some stuff is not a direct property, for example in a table of players I might have a column displaying "location.country". The {{lookup}} helper is: f(e,t){return e&&e[t]} so it will not work for dotted paths. I wrote an implementation of lookupPath:  

Handlebars.registerHelper('lookupPath', function(obj, path) {
    return path && path.split(".").reduce(function(prev, curr) {
        return prev ? prev[curr] : undefined;
    }, obj);
}); 

Now, how to run this? Well, in my top level management Screen, I can put a <gs-snippet snippet="CSS"></gs-snippet>. This seems to work. It's called "CSS" because I have my CSS in that snippet, and I put my script stuff in there also. It's all wrapped in a (function())(); so it auto executes, registering my helper.