Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic

Spark.metaCollection("collectioname").find(); problems

Hi, I'm new to GameSparks and I encountered a problem I can't seem to figure out

Spark.save("characterCollection", {
    "_id" : 0,
    "name" : "spec1",
    "hitPoints" : 5,
    "movement" : 3,
    "strength" : 3,
    "defense" : 3,
    "range" : 1,

"sprite" : "spec1",
    "avatar" : "spec1"    
});
Spark.save("characterCollection", {
    "_id" : 1,
    "name" : "spec2",

"sprite" : "spec2",
    "avatar" : "spec2"    

});

var cursor = Spark.metaCollection("characterCollection").find({"name" : "spec1"});
var current = cursor.curr();

going through test harness, current will turn into null. I don't know if my collection setup is wrong or my query is wrong.

All I want to do is make a database of characters then retrieve all relevant data via a query - in this case by its name.

Thanks in advance

I was told by someone on a different forum to try it this way but still didn't work...current is still null in the end

Spark.runtimeCollection("characterCollection").insert([
    {
     "id" : 1,
    "name" : "spec1",

"sprite" : "spec1",
    "avatar" : "spec1"
    },
    {
     "id" : 2,
    "name" : "spec2",

"sprite" : "spec2",
    "avatar" : "spec2"
    }
]);

var cursor = Spark.runtimeCollection("characterCollection").find();
var current = cursor.curr();

i still want to fetch the document with name spec1 but even just empty query doesn't seem to work at the moment...

Hi Deo,

What exactly are you trying to do here ? I can see from the example given above that the data was inserted into the game. The following will return the data for you.

var cursor = Spark.runtimeCollection("characterCollection").find({"name":"spec1"});
Spark.setScriptData("data", cursor)