Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic
Answered

Check if player exist by displayname or username

Hi all,

I wonder what's the best / easiest way to check if a player exists.

- I like to check inside unity if a certain displayname is used allready.

I don't want to do this on registration request. I need to do this check before registering/authentication

- I like to do the same with username. Check if a certain username exists in the game.

I'm new to Gamesparks so any code snippets to get me on my way would be highly appreciated.

Best Answer

Hi again,

This is related to the same subject so i gues i just post it here and not start a new thread...

I have a simple cloudcode script attached to DeviceAuthenticationRequest.

It makes a runtimeCollection with displaynames so i can check later for duplicates.

This works fine.

But i would like to add the username or id from the player to this list but it keeps returning null for id or username, so i'm retrieving it wrong.

Can anyone please help me how to retrieve username or id in DeviceAuthenticationRequest ?

thanks

// ====================================================================================================
//
// Cloud Code for DeviceAuthenticationRequest, write your code here to customise the GameSparks platform.
//
// For details of the GameSparks Cloud Code API see https://portal.gamesparks.net/docs.htm			
//
// ====================================================================================================
//load the displayNames collection
var displayNameCol = Spark.runtimeCollection("playerList")

//get the displayName passed in from the request
var displayName = Spark.getData().displayName;

//get the user id
var userId = Spark.getData().userId;

//check the custom collection to see if the current displayName is already in use
var displayNameCheck = displayNameCol.findOne({"displayName":displayName})