Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic
Answered

Lua and Realtime session packets

Hi all,

I'm new to the platform and I'm using Corona SDK with LUA.

I'm trying to get my head around setting up a Realtime session and simply sending and receiving packet data for the game.

I've successfully set up a multiplayer match in which multiple players join and know how to send event requests but I'm not sure how I should be sending (and of course receiving) Realtime Data. Or setting up the RT Session in Lua.

Has anyone got any suggestions on where I should start? To begin with, I just want to be able to send a simple packet with let's say a random number and then print the number on the peers' console log.

Sounds easy and I'm sure I've been circumventing the answer for a while now but could do with some help.

Thanks!

Michael

Best Answer

Hi Michael

Currently real time is not supported on our Corona SDK.

Can you tell me more about what it is you want to do with GameSparks?

So I can guide you in the right direction of implementing  gamesparks into your game.

Regards

Katie

Answer

Hi Michael

Currently real time is not supported on our Corona SDK.

Can you tell me more about what it is you want to do with GameSparks?

So I can guide you in the right direction of implementing  gamesparks into your game.

Regards

Katie

Oh right. I had no idea.

Ok well, maybe what I'm trying to do can be achieved via events.

It's quite a simple loop actually. A touch even on Player1 game is triggered and I already have it logging in Cloud Code and responding back. But I need to update the Player2 on what's just happened.

Can we send data from Events triggered by Player1 on to Player2?

Hi Michael

You could send a message to player 2 in cloud code. 

To do this you would need to have player 2's Id.

Are you using Challenges?

How often would these loops/ events be called in a game against player 1 and player 2?

Would the game be turn based or real time?