Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic
Answered

Referencing gsInstance in Cocos2d-x?

Please forgive me if this question is overlooking an incredibly basic GameSparks concept. I'm new to the platform and loving its capabilities so far, but have been stumped by this.

I've followed the examples established with the Cocos2d-x SDK and they have been very useful in establishing device registration and simple connection to GameSparks. However, I'm trying to implement Facebook Login as well. The Login works, and my plan was to have the successful login trigger the GameSparks authentication with the new token (GameSparks automatically checks for a FaceBook token on startup, but I wanted to have a FB login trigger it, as well).

I'm noticing that many of the request functions for GS require the passing in of a gsInstance argument. This makes sense, as the code needs to know which GS connection to pass the arguments through. However, I've looked over the API reference and cannot find a way to reference the active gsInstance, which looks like is initialized on startup in the AppDelegate header as it is in the example project.

My strategy was going to be creating an extern variable to reference the gsInstance, and pass that in with any functions that require it, but I wanted to make sure this doesn't create some kind of security risk. I also wanted to make sure that I'm not overlooking some simple getter function for the gsInstance.

Thank you!

Best Answer

Hi Matthew,

I can think of 2 ways to get around this problem. One of which being you create a new gsInstance pointing to the gsInstance in the AppDelegate header. You could wrap this up in a Singleton, or pass it throughout your application downstream (this is preferred for reasons I'll discuss later).