Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic
Answered

Multiplayer Card Game & Fair usage policy

Hi, I am new to Gamesparks. I am working on developing a turnbased multiplayer cardgame using Unity & Gamesparks. There will be 4 players per room and the people sitting opposite to each other will be partners. I am interested in showing profile pictures for the players (may be through facebook or by letting them set the picture). It would be helpful for me if someone could confirm that this can be done using Gamesparks and give me some directions of the basic steps involved.

I also noticed the Fair usage policy: API Requests: 5,000 per MAU. Data: 20MB per MAU. Bandwidth: 10MB per MAU.

Would the multiplayer card game that I am working on with profile pictures hit the limits mentioned above? What are considered API requests and what are not? Would the profile pictures take up the 10MB per MAU bandwidth? What can I do to make sure that I confirm to the Fair usage policy? Sorry about the many questions and thank you for your help :)

Best Answer

Hi Rajeeve,

API Requests entail any calls the client makes to the server, be it to authenticate, retrieve data such as leaderboards or player information, and interact with any cloud code or events you have defined in the portal. For more information on these requests please visit the Client API Documentation

As for profile pictures it largely depends on the file format and resolution of the picture you would like to upload. JPG's are generally used for this due to their lossy compression, while PNG's addition of an alpha channel can differentiate your images even more. File formats like TIFF and GIF are not recommended. For your purposes, I don't see an issue in using a JPG with a resolution of less than 500x500, and estimate it being only a few KB's in size.