Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic
Answered

save event with array in Unity

Hello.

I'm a complete noob in GS, so forgive me if my question might sound too simple.

I've followed the tutorial on how to store a ghost race replay and it works fine. This is exactly what I need. Unfortunately, the tutorial stops right before the last step: save the data (and load it) from inside a C# script.

Browsing the web I found something and I could make this, that works neatly:

LogEventRequest request = new LogEventRequest();
		request.SetEventKey ("STORE_RACE_DATA");
		request.SetEventAttribute ("GHOST_DATA", jsonString);
		request.SetEventAttribute ("TRACK_NUMBER", DataController.dataController.currentRaceData.GetLevelNumber());
		request.SetEventAttribute ("RACE_TIME", Round1000 (DataController.dataController.currentRaceData.GetFinalTime()));
		request.SetEventAttribute ("STARSHIP_NUMBER", DataController.dataController.data.GetActiveStarhip());

request.Send ((response) => {
			if (!response.HasErrors)
				Debug.Log ("added");
			else
				Debug.Log ("error " + response.Errors.JSON);
		});

The data structure I have is very similar to the one of the tutorial:

TRACK_NUMBER, RACE_TIME, STARSHIP_NUMBER are Numbers, while GHOST_DATA is of type JSON.

Here is where I have the trouble: GHOST_DATA is an array and if I create the Json string it is interpreted as a simple string. How could I save the array in GHOST_DATA?

I hope I was clear, thanks for any possible future help.

Best Answer

Hey Beppi,

Running your 'GRD' event in the test harness works fine for me and im getting responses back without any problems.

I'm guessing you are using unity, so i've checked the call there too, and the data is coming back in the response there too (but it is very temperamental with that encoded string because some of them are very long).
--> See first Pic

So, i assume you are having problem on the 'unity' end getting the data out?