Sign In Register

How can we help you today?

Start a new topic
Answered

Random Challenges

Hello,

I was using another BaaS in my games, which provide a random challenge(match) functionality. I'm new with GameSparks and I don't know to do this.

Basically I want to allow the user to create a challenge without inviting anyone, later another user can "pick" this challenge by creating a new challenge. 

Is that possible?

Thanks

Best Answer

Alright I just wanted to share my final solution that I go working now so that maybe this can help other people who are in the same boat.

So instead of trying to hijack the ChallengeRequest as I initially was doing, I remembered about Events.

So I just created a new Event called ChallengeRandomPlayer, and then I basically took all of my cloud code that I was trying to run in the CreateChallengeRequest code, and moved it over there.  I don't have to pass anything to the backend either, I simply just call the event via LogEventRequest from the front end, and pass in my challenge string as the event key.

Then it runs my code that starts the random challenge after getting a random playerId from my randomPlayerMap.

After the challenge is created, I then get the challenge data from a GetChallengeRequest, since all I have from the CreateChallengeRequest is the challengeInstanceId.  So I pass that to the GetChallengeRequest and send that off.

Once I get the data back, I simply get the challenged data from the challenge object on the GetChallengeResponse, and took out the ExternalID.FB, name, and id.  I set them to the scriptdata, and then on the response on my client code, I now have all of the info to let the user know that they have sent a random challenge and to whom they sent it.

Hopefully this information will help out some other people.

I am wondering about this myself.

Is there anyway to send a random challenge request to all players in the system, including those not on your friends list?